Upcoming Events
JLPL on Facebook!

Award Winning Books

The John Newbery Medal is given yearly to the author of the most outstanding work of children's literature. The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given yearly to the illustrator of the most outstanding American picture book. The Printz Award is awarded yearly to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. Listed below are the winners of each award for the last ten years.

 Year Newbery Award Winners Caldecott Award Winners Printz Award Winners
 2010 When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead  The Lion & The Mouse by Jerry Pinkney  Going Bovine by Libba Bray
 2009 The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, illus. by Dave McKean   The House in the Night illustrated by Beth Krommes, written by Susan Marie Swanson   Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
 2008  Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz    The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick   The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean
 2007   The Higher Power of Luckyby Susan Patron   Flotsam by David Wiesner   American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
 2006   Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins   The Hello, Goodbye Window illustrated by Chris Raschka and written by Norton Juster   Looking for Alaska by John Green
 2005   Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata   Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes    how i live now by Meg Rosoff
 2004  The Tale of Desperaux by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated byTimothy Basil Ering   The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein   The First Part Last by Angela Johnson
2003   Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi   My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann     Postcards from No Man’s Land by Aidan Chambers
2002  A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park   The Three Pigs by David Wiesner   A Step From Heaven, by An Na
2001   A Year Down Yonder by by Richard Peck    So You Want to Be President? Illustrated by David Small, written by Judith St. George    Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond
2000   Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis   Joseph Had a Little Overcoat Simms Taback   Monster by Walter Dean Myers